Southern Governors Forum insists that states will collect the Value Added Tax(VAT).

This was contained in a communiqué read by the Ondo State and Chairman, Southern Governors’ Forum Arakunrin Oluwarotimí O. Akeredólu amid uproar between the Rivers State Government and the Federal Government, a case that is now subject of litigation.

The governors who held their meeting at the Enugu Government lodge also reaffirmed their stand on the open-grazing ban, urging every State in the region to quickly pass a law in that regard.

The communiqué reads in part,” The Nigerian Southern Governors’ Forum at its meeting of today, Thursday, 16th September 2021 held in the Government House, Enugu, reviewed the state or the nation and the progress of implementation of the decisions reached in her previous meetings and further resolved as follows:

Expressed satisfaction with the rate at which the States in Southern Nigeria are enacting or amending the Anti- Open Grazing Laws which align with the uniform template and aspiration of Southern Governors and encouraged the States that are yet to enact this law to do so expeditiously.

Encouraged the full operationalization of already agreed regional security outfits; which would meet, share intelligence and collaborate, to ensure the security and safety of the region.

Reaffirmed its earlier commitment to Structural and fiscal federalism as resolved at the inaugural meeting of the Forum held on Tuesday, 11th May 2021 at Asaba, Delta State, and emphasized the need for the Southern States to leverage the legislative competence of their respective State Houses of Assembly as well as representation in the National assembly to pursue its inclusion in the Nigeran Constitution through the ongoing constitutional amendment.

Following from paragraph 3″ the above, the meeting resolved to support the position that the collection of VAT falls within the powers of the States.

Also present were Ifeanyi Okowa, Delta, Babajide Sanwolu, Lagos, Gbega Oyetola, Osun, Emmanuel Udom, Akwa Ibom, Nyesom Wike, Rivers, Dapo Abiodun, Ogun and the host Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu State.

Deputy Governors present included Rauf Olaniyan, Oyo, Bisi Egbeyemi, Ekiti, Philip Shuaib, Edo, Ude Okochukwu, Abia, Kelechi Igwe, Ebonyi, Placid Njoku, Imo.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here